Dynamic pages

Tass

I'm quite new to html was wondering something. I started my template and that is done. I started creating content and realized what if I wanted to change something.. I'd have to go through all the pages and manually change them one by one.. What if I had hundreds of pages? It was going to take forever.. is there a way I can do this? I'v looked around, but I'm not completly sure. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be nice.

I'm quite new to html was wondering something. I started my template and that is done. I started creating content and realized what if I wanted to change something.. I'd have to go through all the pages and manually change them one by one.. What if I had hundreds of pages? It was going to take forever.. is there a way I can do this? I'v looked around, but I'm not completly sure. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be nice.
Depends on exactly what you're trying to do. If you're trying to standardize, say, a header, than the best way to do it is with server-side-include, in your favorite server-side language.If you can't use server-side, you can use javascript to write it into your file, though that becomes annoyingly verbose really fast.//Matt

I cannot use SSI or ASP on the current server I'm using.
Your only hope is javascript. What you do is convert the HTML you want to to keep constant throughout pages into javascript by writing it with document.Write(). Turn your code into a function, then put the function in a .js file, include it in the head tag of whatever pages you need the content in. Then just call your function in the document wherever you need the content (instead of directly copying the content). Now, when ever you need to change that content, simply edit your javascript function.//Matt

I started creating content and realized what if I wanted to change something.. I'd have to go through all the pages and manually change them one by one..