Good looking links

Elevator_Hazard

I am very new to HTML but familiar and decent with other languages. I have seen a few really nice websites (.html) and they have a nice-looking navigation area. When you hover over the link, the box its in changes color, and I would like to know how to make something like that. (Probably uses tables, I can make tables and I am familiar with them)Thanks

I'm not going to say that you "can't" change the background colour of a table-cell when you hover over it, but it takes some client-side coding which is more than the Html you are learning. (ie: javascript) And I think another restriction will be the fact that IE doesn't work well (or at all) with the on:hover pseudo-class except for anchor tags.

Actually, :hover in IE7 works on all elements, not just anchors (<a>). I think :hover in IE6 also worked on <td>s.If you need "the cell to be a link", you can expand the link to fit in the dimensions of the cell. To do this, add "display:blick" as well as dimensions set to 100% to the link's properties. Like this for example:

a {			 color: blue;background: red;display:block;height: 100%;width: 100%;}a:hover {		 color: red;background: blue;display:block;height: 100%;width: 100%;}

P.S. The fact that you're new to a language is not an excuse not to use it. Not for CSS at least. You'll resolve to it sooner or later, believe me.

Between your <head> and </head>. Like so:

<html>[b]<head>[/b][color="red"]<style type="text/css">a {  color: blue;  background: red;  display:block;  height: 100%;  width: 100%;}a:hover {		  color: red;  background: blue;  display:block;  height: 100%;  width: 100%;}</style>[/color][b]</head>[/b]<body></body></html>

Thanks very much, I'll update my post on my first template now.Here it is on this post: