mailing with php not working

sweinkauf13

Ok, so i keep hearing how "mailto" is horrible and that i should use php. Well PHP is not working. I am new to php and so i'm configuring my php.ini for sending mail. I'm stuck here (inside ny php.ini)

[mail function]; For Win32 only.SMTP = mail.yahoo.comsmtp_port = 25; For Win32 only.;sendmail_from = scpad@att.net

Now i am using a book to help me learn how to do this but it does not cover smtp_port = 25. So i was wondering if anyone knew the port i should be using for yahoo. If you could help me, i would appreciate it. If you need more from me, please ask. Oh ya, and if no one knows, if you could let me know what you use for these settings, i'll be willing to change my e-mail. But if possible, i dont want to do that.Thank you,youngwebmaster

Most servers that have PHP installed also have a mail server installed, so on most live servers PHP uses localhost to send mail. If you want to use Yahoo, you need to first figure out if Yahoo allows their outgoing mail server to be used as a relay like that, most mail servers disable relaying because spammers can just connect to Yahoo's server and start sending mail. Port 25 is the default SMTP port though. FWIW, I don't have a mail server set up on my development PHP server, if I want to test mail functionality I upload my code to a live server.

Ok, that's what i thought. Currently i can not upload files to a live server. So i wanted to be able to test my php scripts (including email scripts) through my development server. Is it possible?