Newbie Needs Some More Help :$

elexion

hey guys thanks for helping me out on my last problem right now i'm strugeling with my navigation page i want it to show other links when role is admin. However it's not working so well i use a : if($SESSION['role']=='admin') statement in my navigation script to define the user that logged in. so now i'm trying to define that $SESSION variable from the page its been send from but i have no idea what to enter so far i have $_SESSION['role']=='';sorry for my probably very annoying question (i'm good at making a mess of my script) but i'm still learning.thanks in advance.

When you assign a value to a variable you use the assignment operator (=), and if you want to check for equality you use ==.$_SESSION is what you want to use, not $SESSION.So when the user submits the information for the username and password, and the username exists, check to see if that user is an admin. If they are assign the $_SESSION['role'] with admin, if not don't assign it admin. Then use the conditional to check the value of the $_SESSION['role'].

A portion of a Login header script I use:

// Display Admin Pages			if( $_SESSION['role']  == "admin" ){ 		echo '	<li class="admin" ><a href="#" title="Admin Link">Admin link</a></li>';						 }

And I would be remiss if I failed to suggest that on those Admin Link pages, you would need to check their status again so that the page is not being linked to directly. What good would it do to have the menu withhold a link if the regular members can hotlink to it?

• 10 months later...

well guys hate to say this but i'm afraid i have to make this post active again, Had this problem fixed but due to the blue screen of death i lost my progress :) So i'm trying to make the code display who's logged in right now i have this: