Why learn html ?

Vihart

Im new to the world of html , css and so on and i just learnt today what deprecated tags are and that basically the html (4.0) tags that im using may not be used in the near future and replaced with html 5 or something else. Also ive learnt that as a whole it may be better to just use css - is all of this true and what type of html should i learn ? i dont want to learn something that will eventually be replaced with something else and having to redo all the code again for my future website.

what type of html should i learn ?
HTML5: http://whatwg.org/html5
i dont want to learn something that will eventually be replaced with something else and having to redo all the code again for my future website.
You should want to rid yourself of deprecated elements. This is the nature of the web, things change. You're going to have to get used to it, though, personally, I don't expect any major changes to be made to the html5 spec at this point.
Also ive learnt that as a whole it may be better to just use css
CSS is a stylesheet language, it is only there to determine how the html is rendered visually. You can't have CSS without some kind of markup language (or a language that creates DOM somehow).

HTML5: http://whatwg.org/html5You should want to rid yourself of deprecated elements. This is the nature of the web, things change. You're going to have to get used to it, though, personally, I don't expect any major changes to be made to the html5 spec at this point.CSS is a stylesheet language, it is only there to determine how the html is rendered visually. You can't have CSS without some kind of markup language (or a language that creates DOM somehow).
thanks alot, and thanks for taking the time to explain

I recommend learning HTML 4.01, not HTML 5.It's the most stable version of HTML and will be for a long time. It's OK to look into HTML 5 once you're experienced with HTML 4.01.