Problems with simple number loop in IE8

bluebomber

Hello, once again I'd like to stress I'm an absolute beginner with Javascript.I've written a simple bit of code that takes the value of a variable called "opac" (which starts at 10) and gradually reduces it to 0 and then back up to 10 in a short space of time - here is my code:var opac = 10;function fadein(){if (opac <= 10){document.getElementById('opac').innerHTML = opac;opac++;setTimeout("fadein()",10); }}function fadeout(){if (opac >= 0){document.getElementById('opac').innerHTML = opac;opac--;setTimeout("fadeout()",10);}}function fadeplus(){ fadeout() setTimeout("fadein()",150);} In the actual body I have:<span id="opac">-</span><a href="java script:fadeplus()">Forward with fade</a>one element displays the current value of "opac" and the other link calls the function which gets the number changing.This code works perfectly in chrome and firefox but I have all sorts of issues in IE8 - sometimes it works fine in IE, other times the number gets "stuck" at 0 and never counts back up to 10 - and more often than not when it does work half right, the variable never quite makes it to 0 or 10 - and tends to get stuck at 1 or 9.Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Your if condition is checking if opac is greater than or equal to zero, so when the counter reaches zero it's going to run it one more time and set it to -1. IE might not like that. It may be showing a Javascript error that you're not seeing. Note also that you're printing the value of opac before changing it, so the values you're seeing printed are the previous values, not the current values.