JS in <head> and <body> explanation

shaijuelayidath

I am studying Javascript from the W3Schools TutorialsIn the 'JS Where To' section of the Tutorial, in the begning says :(A JavaScript can be put in the <body> and in the <head> section of an HTML page.)But did anyone try....some Javascripts are not working from <head>Test the below Javascripts. <script type="text/javascript">var editor="dreamweaver";document.getElementById("trial").innerHTML=editor;</script> and <script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById("trial").innerHTML="This is first Javascript";</script> Yesterday When I asked this as a topic I got the answer thatit should be add by 'window.onload'. That is OK.As I am a new student of Javascript I was testing by placed both in<body> and <head> as per the word in tutorialIn the <body> it is working but not from the <head>.But in the tutorial there is no any explanation about this exceptions.A new comer in Javascript Tutorial will be totally confused by this.So I says it will be very helpfull an explanation about this.

• Like 1

We have no control over the tutorial, but you are right. It would be very confusing learning from this site, wondering why JS in the head isn't working.I highly doubt the admins of the site will ever read this, but it would be a great, small addition the JS tuts.

What they mean is that you are allowed to place it in both the body and in the head. A reference to an element can only be done after the element has loaded. In order to improve efficiency, Javascript starts running as soon as it has been sent to the browser even if the rest of the HTML hasn't arrived. This is why putting Javascript before the element it is trying to access will fail, unless it is contained in a function that is called after the element was loaded.