To become a Web designer

rjapz

Self taught/study html and css. I want to start a new career as a web designer. I know 90% of HTML and 85% CSS, and still learning everyday. I did a little research for jobs as a web designer, and so far the qualifications I seen. You need skills in Php, Javascripts, Xhtml, Mysql, Flash , Dreamweaver,Perl and Photoshop. Now that’s to much, is it really necessary to know all that to become a web designer, or they just saying that it's required to know a few. I not made for school, and I already took classes on A+ and Network +, and Im kind of fed up with school, and still not getting far enough with all the run around. But Im really interested in web design, and don’t want to have to go back 4 another 1 or 2 yrs of school. And Im still going to teach my self what there is I need to know to become a WD. But what I really want to know is, what are the real main web programs to learn and to become a WD. I already know html/css, and I play around with photoshop and dreamweaver, but I prefer to use notpad or wordpad, I have better control. And I already done a few pages of my own for practice. But it’s not the same as working in the field with professionals in a office/business. I don’t want to burn my brains studying what’s not necessary. What are the main things I need to learn?

Well i am not a webdesigner, but just learning HTML and CSS is only enough if u want a booring static website with text.I've u wanna make a website with some action a inlog system and stuff u realy need to learn PHP MySQL and Javascript.