How did you get into Web Development?

knystrom18

Were classes offered at a 4 year that you went to, or did you have to go to a technical school like ECPI or ITT to get all the education you needed? Self taught?Lemme know!Thanks,- K

> How did you get into Web Development?My parole officer suggested it as part of my work release program. And by "suggested", I mean "in lieu of sentencing".

I was a really boring kid in High School and I hadn't really gotten into computer programming yet, so web designing seemed like a good way to fill the void/bridge the gap. It just seemed like something fun to do, helped pass the time, and was fairly new and interesting.

I'm self-taught, because I started when the web was new (1993-4). You could take computer science courses, but there were no classes specifically about web design. With basic programming skills you could write CGI scripts in Perl. I didn't have much use for that back then. The most popular CGI in the early days was a page counter, and there were a lot of sites that would host that service for free. JavaScript didn't exist right away.

I got into web development on summer 2005. I started making pages with Microsoft Publisher, inserting bits of HTML within other parts of the page. It was a disaster. In the following months I eventually learnt HTML and started making my sites in notepad.I eventually learnt about XHTML and semantic mark-up.When it comes to Javascript and PHP, I certainly couldn't be as proficient in them as I am if I hadn't been in university. Understanding computers as a whole takes you very far in programming.